U.S. Open

Pinehurst Resort & Country Club (Course No. 2)

Walker Cup

The 2026 Walker Cup awarded to historic Irish links

July 10, 2023

LAHINCH, CO.CLARE - SEPTEMBER 28: A view from the 9th tee over the par 5, 12th hole (left to bridge) with the 10th and 13th greens in the foreground on the The Old Course at Lahinch Golf Club, on September 28, 2005 in Lahinch, Co. Clare, Ireland (Photo by David Cannon/Getty Images)

David Cannon

Lahinch has been named host of the 2026 Walker Cup.

The R&A announced Monday that the venerable Irish links will be the upcoming site for the biennial match between the best amateurs of the United States and Great Britain and Ireland. It will be just the third time Ireland has hosted the Walker Cup in the 100-year history of the event.

“Lahinch is widely regarded as being one of the finest links courses in Ireland and so there will be great excitement at the prospect of the Walker Cup being played there for the very first time,” said Phil Anderton, chief development officer at the R&A. “Whenever we have staged a championship or international match on the island of Ireland, we have always been fortunate to have Irish fans turn out in great numbers to support the competing golfers and generate a fantastic atmosphere. We look forward to enjoying another special occasion in 2026 when many of the world’s best men’s amateur golfers will represent Great Britain and Ireland and the United States of America to compete for this historic trophy.”

The links course was originally laid out by Old Tom Morris, with Alister MacKenzie overseeing a remodel in the 1920s. Lahinch is consistently ranked in Golf Digest’s World’s 100 Greatest list and has been called the “St. Andrews of Ireland.” It has hosted the South of Ireland Championship and the 2019 Irish Open.

The 2023 Walker Cup is set to visit the Old Course. Future Walker Cup venues include Cypress Point Club, Oakmont, Chicago Golf Club and Bandon Dunes.

This year’s Walker Cup begins in early September. The Americans are the defending champs, and have won the past three Walker Cups.