FedEx St. Jude Championship

TPC Southwind


News & Tours

Rules

Scorecard rules issue causes former Ryder Cup captain to be disqualified at Scottish Open

July 08, 2022
1404395114

Stuart Franklin

Even golf’s most veteran players get tripped up by the Rules of Golf from time to time.

On Friday after finishing up his second round at the Genesis Scottish Open, Thomas Bjorn a 15-time DP World Tour winner and former European Ryder Cup captain, was disqualified from the tournament for signing an incorrect scorecard.

According to PGATour.com, the 51-year-old Dane shot an eight-over 78 during his second trip around the Renaissance Club in North Berwick, Scotland, after posting a five-over 75 on Thursday. On the DP World Tour website, Bjorn was listed as having shot a 77. DP World Tour officials said that Bjorn signed for a 4 on the par-4 11th hole when he had shot 5. By mistakenly signing a card with a lower score on a hole than he had shot, Bjorn broke Rule 3.3b, which comes with a penalty of disqualification.

The frustration of the DQ not withstanding, it made little difference to Bjorn’s plans for the weekend. At 13 over, the member of the DP World Tour board was well back of the two-over projected cut line at the time he had finished his round.