Advertisement

Genesis Scottish Open

The Renaissance Club



    Rules Review

    Rules of Golf Review: My ball was on a slope and a gust of wind rolled it on the green. Am I putting now?

    What to do when natural forces mess with your golf ball

    June 05, 2025
    763175123

    Johner Images

    What happens when a natural force—and we're not talking the explosion in "CaddyShack"—moves your ball? This is a situation that comes into play quite often, especially on seaside courses where winds can be howling. And there is a Rule that determines what should happen next.

    To clarify, "natural forces" does not mean shading a golf ball to get the grass blades to fall. At the 2021 WGC-Dell Technologies Match Play, Tony Finau "shaded" his golf ball on the edge of a cup in his match against Jason Kokrak, and it fell in before the alloted 10 seconds had elapsed when the ball would have been considered at rest. You might argue the shade caused the grass blades to move just enough to make the ball drop, but most agree this is a myth. That said, it would be interesting if the USGA decided shading was the same as stomping near the hole, which is a rules violation.

    Back to our topic. You might know that under Rule 13.1d, a ball moved by wind should be played from its new position as long as it hasn't been marked, lifted and replaced before the movement. If you did mark and put it back at its spot, and it subsequently moves, you have to replace it to where it was marked.

    You also might wonder what happens when a ball moves when it's not on a green. The example in the headline might give you pause as to what to do. You hit an approach shot and it lands just off the green but on a slope. Before you reach the ball, a gust of wind pushes it down the hill and onto the green. Maybe it rolls all the way into the cup or to tap-in range. Do you get to count it as holed or get to knock it into the cup from its new position?

    The answer is yes under Rule 9.3. You might think that seems unfair, especially if you're playing against someone and it happens to his or her ball. Keep in mind, however, that the ball can move into a worse position, too. It could roll down the hill into a penalty area. If it did, you'd have to proceed with options for that part of the course.

    There is one exception to this rule that should also be noted: If you put the original ball or another ball into play by dropping, placing or replacing it, and then wind or other natural forces cause the ball to move and come to rest in another area of the course or out of bounds, the ball should be replaced on its original spot.

    MORE GOLF DIGEST RULES REVIEWS