Mexico Open at Vidanta

Vidanta Vallarta

LIV Golf

LIV Golf announces format for $50 million team-only event at Trump Doral

September 27, 2022

Icon Sportswire

LIV Golf has finalized the format for the $50 million team event that will serve as the finale to the upstart tour's inaugural season.

In a letter sent to players Tuesday morning (and confirmed by a press release), the Saudi-backed circuit outlined the operating framework for the Oct. 28-30 tournament at Trump Doral, incorporating a mix of match play and stroke play. At the conclusion of LIV Golf’s seventh event (held in Jeddah in mid-October), the final team standings will determine the No. 1 through 12 seeds for the competition in Miami.

The format is as follows:

Quarterfinals (Oct. 28)
- The top four teams will receive byes
- The highest-ranked teams get to pick their matches
- 32 players from eight teams will compete in a shotgun start
- In each team matchup there will be three matches: Two singles matches, one alternate shot
- Matches will be played until a winner is determined

Semifinals (Oct. 29)
- The four teams that received byes choose their opponents, with the same format as above

Championship Round (Oct. 30)
- Four teams compete in shotgun start round of stroke play
- 16 players will compete in twosomes
- All four scores count towards team score; team with lowest total wins

As for what is on the line, the winning team gets to split $16 million among the four players, with the runners-up receiving $10 million and third place $8 million. Even the teams that are bounced on Day 1 will still get $1 million. Through the first five events the 4 Aces—featuring Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Talor Gooch and Pat Perez—are in first in the team standings.

The next LIV Golf event will be played in next week in Bangkok.

Also on Tuesday four more LIV members—Phil Mickelson, Ian Poulter, Hudson Swafford and Talor Gooch—dropped out of the lawsuit against the PGA Tour. Of the 11 players that were originally part of the antitrust case, only three remain: Matt Jones, Peter Uihlein and Bryson DeChambeau.