Payday at Doral

Here's the prize money payout for each team at the 2022 LIV Golf Team Championship - Miami

October 27, 2022

Charles Laberge/LIV Golf

In the first seven events of LIV Golf’s inaugural season, the Saudi-backed circuit paid prize money payouts of $25 million combined for its individual and team competitions. For its eighth and final event of 2022, the upstart tour doubled that.

The overall purse for the LIV Golf Team Championship – Miami was $50 million, with the four-man team that won on Sunday—the 4 Aces—earning $16 million to split among its members—Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Talor Gooch and Pat Perez.

This week’s event was solely a team competition, played at Trump National Doral in Florida, and it employed a unique format. On Friday, the four highest-seeded teams among the 12 total received byes. The remaining eight teams competed in a head-to-head match-play bracket with the teams playing a mix of singles and foursome matches.

The four winning teams on Friday advanced to Saturday to face the top four seeds, playing the same format from Friday. The four winning teams on Saturday then advanced to Sunday, where the format changed. All players on all four teams played stroke play, with all four members’ scores counting toward the team total.

In the end, the 4 Aces, the No. 1 seed entering the championship, pulled out the victory on Sunday. Johnson, Reed and Perez all shot two-under 70s and Gooch has a one-under 71. The team's seven-under aggregate was one stroke lower than Punch GC, which saw Cameron Smith shoot the day's best score overall (seven-under 65). However, Matt Jones and Marc Leishman stumbled with matching two-over 74s while Wade Ormsby could only shoot one-under 71.

By pocketing another $4 million, Johnson increased his on-course LIV earnings for 2022 to $35,637,767. That includes a $18 million bonus for being the top player in the upstart circuit's season-long points race in 2022 but doesn't include the reported $150 million guaranteed for him just to sign with the league.

“It’s been amazing,” Johnson said. “This week’s been incredible. This whole season has gotten better and better and obviously this finale has been unbelievable.”

Here's the prize money payouts for each team this week at Doral.

Winner: $16 million

4 Aces GC (Dustin Johnson, Patrick Reed, Talor Gooch, Pat Perez), -7

Second: $8 million

Punch GC (Cameron Smith, Marc Leishman, Matt Jones, Wade Ormsby), -6

Third: $6 million

Smash GC (Brooks Koepka, Peter Uihlein, Jason Kokrak, Chase Koepka), +4

Fourth: $4 million

Stinger GC (Louis Oosthuizen, Charl Schwartzel, Branden Grace, Hennie Du Plessis), +10

T-5: $3 million

Cleeks GC (Graeme McDowell, Richard Bland, Laurie Canter and Shergo Al Kurdi)

Crushers GC (Bryson DeChambeau, Paul Casey, Charles Howell III, Anirban Lahiri)

Fireballs GC (Sergio Garcia, Carlos Ortiz, Eugenio Lopez-Chacarra, Abraham Ancer)

Majesticks GC (Ian Poulter, Lee Westwood, Sam Horsfield and Henrik Stenson)

T-9: $1 million per team

Niblicks GC(Harold Varner III, James Piot, Turk Pettit, Hudson Swafford)

Iron Heads GC (Kevin Na, Sihwan Kim, Sadom Kaewkanjana, Phachara Khongwatmai)

Torque GC (Joaquin Niemann, Jed Morgan, Adrian Otaegui, Scott Vincent)

Hy Flyers (Phil Mickelson, Matthew Wolff, Bernd Weisberger, Cameron Tringale)