Payday at Jack's Place

Here's the prize money payout for each golfer at the 2023 Memorial Tournament

June 04, 2023

Michael Reaves

Viktor Hovland was hardly an afterthought entering the final round of the Memorial Tournament—he started Sunday just one shot off the lead at the menacing Muirfield Village Golf Club and was coming off an impressive runner-up showing two weeks earlier at the PGA Championship. But with 21 players within three shots of the lead at Jack’s Place, it was hard to single any one out.

In the end, however, the 25-year-old from Norway proved too much for the rest of the field, shooting a closing two-under 70—inlcuding the only birdie of the day on the 17th hole—for a seven-under 281 total, good enough to get him to extra holes with Denny McCarthy. Then, with a seven-foot par putt on the first playoff, Hovland claimed his fourth career PGA Tour title.

“I don’t want it again,” Hovland joked with tournament host Jack Nicklaus after making the playoff putt to win for the first time in the 2022-23 season after posting six top-10s in 15 starts.

“I’ve been playing well. I’ve just been trying to stay within myself and play my own game,” Hovland said. “I just played smart and played my game and game up clutch this time. Feels even better after a few close calls in the last few months.”

Hovland’s happiness was offset by disappointment for McCarthy. The 30-year-old, seeking his first PGA Tour title, had been playing bogey-free on the day and had a one-shot lead as he stepped to the 18th hole in regulation. But his drive missed the fairway left and the resulting bogey dropped him back into a tie with Hovland. Then in the playoff, McCarthy returned to the 18th hole only to miss the fairway right and make another bogey, setting up Hovland’s winning par putt.

Hovland’s win earned him the first-place prize money payout of $3.6 million from the $20 million overall purse in tour’s latest designated event. Here’s the prize money payouts for every golfer who made the cut this week.

Muirfield Village Golf Club
Muirfield Village Golf Club
Dublin, OH
169 Panelists
This is the course that Jack built, and rebuilt, and rebuilt again and again. Since its opening in 1974, Jack Nicklaus has remodeled every hole at Muirfield Village, some more than once, using play at the PGA Tour’s annual Memorial Tournament for some guidance. The most recent renovation in 2020 was one of the most extensive and included the rebuilding of every hole, the shifting of greens and tees, strategic changes to the iconic par 5s and a new, more player-friendly par3 16th. That’s how a championship course remains competitive. But with every change, Nicklaus always made sure the general membership could still play and enjoy the course as well. The latest word is that Nicklaus is still not happy with the 16th hole and has plans for yet another version.
View Course

Win: Viktor Hovland, 281/-7, $3,600,000

P-2: Denny McCarthy, 281/-7, $2,180,000

3: Scottie Scheffler, 282/-6, $1,380,000

4: Si Woo Kim, 283/-5, $980,000

T-5: Andrew Putnam, 284/-4, $772,500

T-5: Jordan Spieth, 284/-4, $772,500

T-7: Rory McIlroy, 285/-3, $650,000

T-7: Adam Schenk, 285/-3, $650,000

T-9: Matt Fitzpatrick, 286/-2, $545,000

T-9: Rickie Fowler, 286/-2, $545,000

T-9: Adam Scott, 286/-2, $545,000

T-12: Wyndham Clark, 287/-1, $410,000

T-12: Tyrrell Hatton, 287/-1, $410,000

T-12: Lee Hodges, 287/-1, $410,000

T-12: David Lipsky, 287/-1, $410,000

T-16: Joseph Bramlett, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Sam Burns, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Russell Henley, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Luke List, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Shane Lowry, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Hideki Matsuyama, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Jon Rahm, 288/E, $275,500

T-16: Sepp Straka, 288/E, $275,500

T-24: Byeong Hun An, 289/+1, $163,000

T-24: Eric Cole, 289/+1, $163,000

T-24: Beau Hossler, 289/+1, $163,000

T-24: Stephan Jaeger, 289/+1, $163,000

T-24: Xander Schauffele, 289/+1, $163,000

T-24: Gary Woodland, 289/+1, $163,000

T-30: Keegan Bradley, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Patrick Cantlay, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Austin Eckroat, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Ryan Fox, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Garrick Higgo, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Mark Hubbard, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: Patrick Rodgers, 290/+2, $117,250

T-30: J.J. Spaun, 290/+2, $117,250

T-38: Christiaan Bezuidenhout, 291/+3, $91,000

T-38: Luke Donald, 291/+3, $91,000

T-38: J.T. Poston, 291/+3, $91,000

T-41: Sungjae Im, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: S.H. Kim, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: Taylor Montgomery, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: Seamus Power, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: Brandt Snedeker, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: Sam Stevens, 292/+4, $71,000

T-41: Justin Suh, 292/+4, $71,000

T-48: Thomas Detry, 293/+5, $52,600

T-48: Emiliano Grillo, 293/+5, $52,600

T-48: Keith Mitchell, 293/+5, $52,600

T-48: Matt Wallace, 293/+5, $52,600

T-52: Harris English, 294/+6, $48,600

T-52: Alex Noren, 294/+6, $48,600

T-54: Davis Riley, 295/+7, $47,200

T-54: Danny Willett, 295/+7, $47,200

T-56: Sam Ryder, 296/+8, $46,400

T-56: Davis Thompson, 296/+8, $46,400

T-58: Chez Reavie, 297/+9, $45,600

T-58: Sahith Theegala, 297/+9, $45,600

T-60: Stewart Cink, 298/+10, $44,800

T-60: Taylor Pendrith, 298/+10, $44,800

62: Matt Kuchar, 299/+11, $44,200

63: Sam Bennett, 300/+12, $43,800

64: Lanto Griffin, 301/+13, $43,400

65: Tom Hoge, 305/+17, $43,000