Crunching the Numbers

A startlingly long list of pros broke money milestones on the PGA Tour during the 2023 season

October 30, 2023

Gregory Shamus

Yes, we all know that prize money payouts were up—way up!—on the PGA Tour during the 2022-23 season. With the introduction of “designated” (soon-to-be "signature") events with purses jumping into $20 million neighborhood for more than a dozen tournaments—a response to the influx of money into pro golf from the launch of LIV Golf—the overall money up for grabs was $428.6 million.

Naturally, then, players were going to bank lots more loot than in previous years, allowing more tour pros to break through various career-earning milestones. For instance, the top money earner on tour this season was Scottie Scheffler, who made a single-season record of $21,014,341 in 23 starts. That allowed the 27-year-old to leap through not just the $30 million career-earnings barrier but the $40 million mark, too.

Still, the sheer number of pros who jumped past certain round-number money thresholds ($10 million, $20 million, $30 million, etc.) feels fairly shocking, even with the caveat that this was likely to happen. Consider that three tour pros (Justin Rose, Jordan Spieth and Adam Scott) joined the $60 million career-earnings club, boosting the overall number from six to nine (an increase of 50 percent).

Meanwhile, five more tour pros can boast having earned at least $40 million in their careers, increasing the overall number from 25 to 30 (a 20-percent bump). Interestingly, one of those five was Brooks Koepka, who, despite not being a PGA Tour member, saw his earnings in PGA Tour-sanctioned events increase by $5,057,192 to $43,044,449 thanks to a win at the PGA Championship and a runner-up at the Masters.

The overall career PGA Tour money list looks a lot different in fall 2023 than it did just 12 months ago, with a total of 39 different tour pros jump past eight-figure round-number money thresholds. We also explored two other “smaller” benchmarks, $5 million and $1 million, and well, there are plenty more tour pros who are now members of those earnings clubs, too.

Here's each milestone with the number of "new" members and the overall total.

$80 million (1 new, 3 overall)

Rory McIlroy ($80,095,557)

$70 million (1 new, 6 overall)

Rory McIlroy

McIlroy made $13.9 million during the 2022-23 season, allowing him to become the sixth player ever to make $70 million or more on tour and then the third (only behind Tiger Woods and Phil Mickelson) to exceed $80 million in earnings.

$60 million (3 new, 9 overall)

Justin Rose

Jordan Spieth

Adam Scott

$50 million (1 new, 14 overall)

Jon Rahm

$40 million (5 new, 30 overall)

Jon Rahm

Rahm was another player to jump through two money thresholds thanks to earning $16.5 million in 2022-23.

Brooks Koepka

Scottie Scheffler

Patrick Cantlay

Keegan Bradley

$30 million (3 new, 53 overall)

Scottie Scheffler

Lucas Glover

Brian Harman

$20 million (11 new, 111 overall)

Viktor Hovland

Hovland’s $18 million haul for winning the FedEx Cup isn’t not included in official career money earned.


Kevin C. Cox

Sungjae Im

Max Homa

Matt Fitzpatrick

Si Woo Kim

Sam Burns

Chez Reavie

Tyrrell Hatton

Tommy Fleetwood

Fleetwood is the all-time leading earner on the PGA Tour without a victory to his credit.

Adam Hadwin

Emiliano Grillo

$10 million (17 new, 243 overall)

Wyndham Clark

Nick Taylor

Sepp Straka

Denny McCarthy

Ben An

Keith Mitchell

Patrick Rodgers

Cameron Young

Alex Noren

David Lingmerth

Cam Davis

K.H. Lee

Joel Dahmen

Seamus Power

J.J. Spaun

Tom Kim

Sahith Theegala


Ben Jared

McCarthy, An, Rodgers, Young and Noren all joined the $10 million club without having won a PGA Tour event in their careers.

$5 million (15 new, 377 overall)

Adam Schenk

Kurt Kitayama

Mark Hubbard

Taylor Moore

Zac Blair

Tyler Duncan

Adam Svensson

Davis Riley

Matt Wallace

Matt NeSmith

Michael Kim

Henrik Norlander

Cameron Percy

Lee Hodges

Christian Bezuidenhout

$1 million (21 new, 648 overall)

Erik Cole

Justin Suh

Taylor Montgomery

Ben Griffin

Austin Eckroat

Akshay Bhatia

Ben Taylor

Davis Thompson

Dylan Wu

Justin Lower

Harry Hall

Andrew Novak

Vincent Norrman

Austin Smotherman

Carson Young

Ludvig Aberg

Max McGreevy

Kevin Yu

Tyson Alexander

Zecheng Dou

M.J. Daffue