December 8, 2008

America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses / 2007-2008

Even the best courses keep getting better, and our latest lists show the spectacular results

__ America's 100 Greatest Public Golf Courses__ 1. __ Pebble Beach G. Links __ Pebble Beach, 800-654-9300; pebblebeach.com 2. __ Pacific Dunes__Bandon, Ore., 888-345-6008; bandondunesgolf.com 3. Pinehurst Resort & C.C. (No. 2) Pinehurst, N.C., 800-487-4653; pinehurst.com 4. __ Whistling Straits (Straits)__ Haven, Wis., 800-618-5535; whistlingstraits.com 5. __ Bethpage State Park (Black)__ Farmingdale, N.Y., 516-249-4040; nysparks.state.ny.us 6. __ Shadow Creek__North Las Vegas, Nev., 866-260-0069; shadowcreek.com 7. Bandon Dunes Bandon, Ore., 888-345-6008; bandondunesgolf.com 8. The Ocean Course Kiawah Island, S.C., 888-854-2924; kiawahgolf.com 9. __ The Prince Course __ Princeville, Kauai, Hawaii, 800-826-4400; princeville.com 10. __ Arcadia Bluffs G.C.__ Arcadia, Mich., 800-494-8666; arcadiabluffs.com 11. __ Spyglass Hill G. Cse. __ Pebble Beach, 800-654-9300; pebblebeach.com 12. __ Blackwolf Run (River) __ Kohler, Wis., 800-618-5535; destinationkohler.com 13. __ TPC Sawgrass (Players Stadium Cse.) __ Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla., 904-273-3235; tpcsawgrass.com 14. __ Tullymore G.C. __ Stanwood, Mich., 800-972-4837; stivesgolf.com 15. Harbour Town G. Links Hilton Head Island, 800-955-8337; seapines.com 16. __ The Homestead (Cascades)__ Hot Springs, Va., 800-838-1766; thehomestead.com 17. __ The G.C. at Redlands Mesa__ Grand Junction, Colo., 970-263-9270; redlandsmesa.com 18. __ Karsten Creek __ Stillwater, Okla., 405-743-1658; karstencreek.net 19. __ The Quarry at Giants Ridge __ Biwabik, Minn., 800-688-7669 giantsridge.com 20 __ Forest Dunes G.C.Roscommon, Mich., 989-275-0700; forestdunesgolf.com 21 __ Bandon Trails Bandon, Ore., 888-345-6008; bandondunesgolf.com 22. __The Broadmoor G.C. (East)__Colorado Springs, 800-634-7711 broadmoor.com 23. __Bay Harbor G.C. (Links/Quarry)__Bay Harbor, Mich., 231-439-4028 bayharbor.com 24. __ Hawktree G.C. __ Bismarck, N.D., 888-465-4295 hawktree.com 25. Wolf Creek G.C. Mesquite, Nev., 866-252-4653 golfwolfcreek.com 26. The Harvester G.C. Rhodes, Iowa, 641-227-4653 harvestergolf.com 27. __ Sea Island G.C. (Seaside) __ St. Simons Island, Ga., 800-732-4752 seaisland.com 28. __ The Dunes G. & Beach C. __ Myrtle Beach, 866-386-3722; dunesgolfandbeachclub.com 29. Cog Hill G. & C.C. (No. 4) Lemont, Ill., 630-257-5872 coghillgolf.com 30. __ Pasatiempo G.C.__Santa Cruz, Calif., 831-459-9155; pasatiempo.com 31. __ Mauna Kea G. Cse.Kohala Coast, Hawaii, 808-882-5400; maunakeabeachhotel.com 32. __ Crosswater __ Sunriver, Ore., 541-593-4402; sunriver-resort.com 33. __ Kapalua G.C. (Plantation) __ Kapalua, Hawaii, 877-527-2582; kapaluamaui.com 34. __ The Challenge at Manele Lanai City, Hawaii, 808-565-2222; lanai-resorts.com 35. __ Black Lake G.C.Onaway, Mich., 989-733-4653; blacklakegolf.com 36. __ Whistling Straits (Irish) Haven, Wis., 800-618-5535; whistlingstraits.com 37. __ Shepherd's Hollow G.C. (2nd/3rd) __ Clarkston, Mich., 248-922-0300; shepherdshollow.com 38. Paa-Ko Ridge G.C. Sandia Park, N.M. 866-898-5987; paakoridge.com 39. __ World Woods G.C. (Pine Barrens) __ Brooksville, Fla., 352-796-5500; worldwoods.com 40. __Red Hawk G.C.East Tawas, Mich., 877-733-4295; redhawkgolf.net 41. __ Tidewater G.C. & Plantation__North Myrtle Beach, S.C. 800-446-5363; tide-water.com 42. The Classic at Madden's Resort Brainerd, Minn., 800-642-5363; maddens.com 43. __ Pine Needles Lodge & G.C.; __ Southern Pines, N.C., 800-747-7272pineneedles-midpines.com 44. __ Black Mesa G.C. __ La Mesilla, N.M., 505-747-8946; blackmesagolfclub.com 45. Sugarloaf G.C. Carrabassett Valley, Me., 800-843-5623; sugarloaf.com 46. __ The Heritage Club __ Pawleys Island, S.C., 800-377-2315; legendsgolf.com 47. __ Cascata __ Boulder City, Nev., 702-294-2000; golfcascata.com 48. __ Pinehurst Resort & C.C. (No. 4) Pinehurst, N.C., 800-487-4653; pinehurst.com 49. __ Bulle Rock__Havre de Grace, Md., 888-285-5375; bullerock.com 50. __Olde Stonewall G.C.__Ellwood City, Pa., 724-752-4653; oldestonewall.com Even the best courses keep getting better, and our latest lists show the spectacular results 51. Ko'olau G.C. Kaneohe, Oahu, Hawaii, 808-236-4653; koolaugolfclub.com 52. __ Deacon's Lodge G. Cse. __ Breezy Point, Minn., 888-437-4637; deaconslodge.com 53. __ Barefoot Resort & Golf (Love) __ North Myrtle Beach, S.C., 877-767-1568; barefootgolf.com 54. __ Lakewood Shores Resort (Gailes) __ Oscoda, Mich., 800-882-2493; lakewoodshores.com 55. __Pinehurst Resort & C.C. (No. 8)__Pinehurst, N.C., 800-487-4653; pinehurst.com 56. __ Kauai Lagoons G.C. (Kiele) __ Lihue, Hawaii, 800-634-6400; golfbc.com 57. __ Ocean Hammock G.C. __ Palm Coast, Fla., 386-447-4611; oceanhammock.com 58. __ The G.C. at Cuscowilla __ Eatonton, Ga., 800-458-5351; cuscowilla.com 59. __ The Legend at Giants Ridge __ Biwabik, Minn., 800-688-7669; giantsridge.com 60. __ Branson Creek G.C. __ Hollister, Mo., 888-772-9990; bransoncreekgolf.com 61. __ WeaverRidge G.C. __ Peoria, Ill., 309-691-3344; weaverridge.com 62. __ Rivers Edge G.C. __ Shallotte, N.C., 877-748-3718; river18.com 63. Edgewood Tahoe G. Cse. Stateline, Nev., 775-588-3566; edgewood-tahoe.com 64. __ Tradition G.C. at Royal New Kent __ Providence Forge, Va., 888-554-6055; traditionalclubs.com 65. __ The Links of North Dakota __ Ray, N.D., 866-733-6453; thelinksofnorthdakota.com 66. __ Running Y Ranch Resort __ Klamath Falls, Ore., 888-850-0261; runningy.com 67. Avalon Lakes G. Cse. Warren, Ohio, 330-856-8898; avalonlakes.com 68. __ Pumpkin Ridge G.C. (Ghost Creek) __ North Plains, Ore., 888-594-4653; pumpkinridge.com 69. __ Great River G.C. __ Milford, Conn., 203-876-8051; greatrivergolfclub.com 70. __ The Links at Spanish Bay __ Pebble Beach, 800-654-9300; pebblebeach.com 71. StoneWater G.C. Highland Heights, Ohio, 440-461-4653; stonewatergolf.com 72. __ Quarry Oaks G.C. __ Ashland, Neb., 888-944-6001; quarryoaks.com 73. __ Tiger's Eye G. Links __ Sunset Beach, N.C., 800-233-1801; lionspaw.com 74. __ Limestone Springs G.C. __ Oneonta, Ala., 205-274-4653; limestonesprings.com 75. __ Longaberger G.C. __ Nashport, Ohio, 740-763-1100; longaberger.com 76. __ King's North at Myrtle Beach National __ Myrtle Beach, S.C., 800-344-5590; mbn.com 77. __ Poipu Bay G.Cse. __ Koloa, Kauai, Hawaii, 800-858-6300; poipubaygolf.com 78. __ The Tribute G.C. __ The Colony, Tex., 972-370-5465; thetributegolflinks.com 79. __ Lakota Canyon Ranch G.C. __ New Castle, Colo., 970-984-9700; lakotacanyonranch.com 80. __ The Bluffs on Thompson Creek __ St. Francisville, La., 888-634-3410; thebluffs.com 81. __ Eagle Eye G.C. __ East Lansing, Mich., 888-411-4295; hawkhollow.com 82. __ TPC Deere Run __ Silvis, Ill., 877-872-3677; tpc.com 83. __ Barton Creek Resort & C.C. (Fazio Canyons) __ Austin, 800-336-6158; clubcorp.com 84. __ The General at Eagle Ridge __ Galena, Ill., 800-892-2269; eagleridge.com 85. __ Golden Horseshoe G.C. (Gold) __ Williamsburg, Va., 800-648-6653; goldenhorseshoegolf.com 86. __ Caledonia G. & Fish C. __ Pawleys Island, S.C., 800-483-6800; fishclub.com 87. __ True Blue G.C. __ Pawleys Island, S.C., 888-483-6800; truebluegolf.com 88. __ Gray Plantation __ Lake Charles, La., 337-562-1663; graywoodllc.com 89. __ PGA West (TPC Stadium) __ La Quinta, Calif., 800-742-9378, pgawest.com 90. __Torrey Pines G. Cse (South) __ La Jolla, Calif., 800-985-4653; torreypinesgolfcourse.com 91. __ Saratoga National G.C. __ Saratoga Springs, N.Y., 518-583-4653; golfsaratoga.com 92. __ Barefoot Resort & Golf (Fazio) __ North Myrtle Beach, S.C., 877-767-1568; barefootgolf.com 93. __ Belgrade Lakes G.C. __ Belgrade Lakes, Me., 207-495-4653; belgradelakesgolf.com 94. __ Bay Hill Club __ Orlando, 407-876-2429; bayhill.com 95. __ Shenendoah G.C. __ Verona, N.Y., 877-748-4653; turning-stone.com 96. __ Troon North G.C. (Monument) __ Scottsdale, 480-585-7700; troonnorthgolf.com 97. __ Great Waters at Reynolds Plantation __ Eatonton, Ga., 800-852-5885; reynoldsplantation.com 98. __ Dancing Rabbit G.C. (Azaleas) __ Choctaw, Miss., 888-372-2248; dancingrabbitgolf.com 99. __ Reflection Bay G.C. __ Henderson, Nev., 877-698-4653; lakelasvegas.com 100. __ Old Works G. Cse. __ Anaconda, Mont., 888-229-4833; oldworks.org