The 7 Different Types Of Golfers Who Win The U.S. Open

June 2014
Rory McIlroy 2011 us open

The Thoroughbred (Recent examples: Rory Mcilroy, Tiger, Ernie Els):

Yes, there are occasions when the player who wins the Open just happens to be the best player in the world -- or very close to it. These are often unapologetic, convincing wins, when sheer talent adheres to conventional wisdom and rises above all. Els was a virtual upstart when he won in 1994 but was at the peak of his game when he won at 1997, while Woods (in 2000, 2002, and 2008) and McIlroy (2011) used their Open wins to showcase their most inspired golf.
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe today