The Loop

Wetterich Out of Match Play, Oberholser Says He's In

February 11, 2008

A shoulder injury has caused Brett Wetterich to withdraw from the WGC-Accenture Match Play Championship next week and casts doubt on the long hitter's entire 2008 season. Wetterich played the 2007 season with a sore left shoulder and injured it further when he slipped on some ice in the off-season. An initial MRI showed a torn labrum. An operation could sideline him for 6-9 months, but Wetterich is seeking a second opinion.

Anthony Kim is the immediate beneficiary of Wetterich's withdrawal from the Match Play. The 66th-ranked player in the world now qualifies for the matches at The Gallery at Dove Mountain in Tucson and gets the unenviable task of playing Tiger Woods in the first round. (Ernie Els had already announced his intention to skip the event, getting 65th-ranked J.B. Holmes into the field.)

Arron Oberholser, who withdrew from the AT&T Pebble Beach National Pro-Am because of bursitis in his right shoulder, was considered a candidate to skip the Match Play, but he said Monday afternoon that he's going to play. "I'm going to play for sure," he said. "In my mind there's no doubt. Sooner or later I have to test it out in competition."

Barring more withdrawals before the championship begins Feb. 20, here's a look at first-round matchups:

Tiger Woods vs. Anthony Kim

Arron Oberholser vs. Tim Clark

K.J. Choi vs. Rod Pampling

Scott Verplank vs. Soren Hansen

Vijay Singh vs. Brad Dredge

Paul Casey vs. Nathan Green

Aaron Baddeley vs. Justin Leonard

Lee Westwood vs. David Toms

Sergio Garcia vs. Peter Hanson

Niclas Fasth vs. Boo Weekley

Justin Rose vs. Brendan Jones

Toru Taniguchi vs. Nick O'Hern

Geoff Ogilvy vs. Robert Allenby

Trevor Immelman vs. Brandt Snedeker

Steve Stricker vs. Pat Perez

Stuart Appleby vs. Andres Romero

Adam Scott vs. Daniel Chopra

Richard Sterne vs. Woody Austin

Angel Cabrera vs. John Senden

Martin Kaymer vs. Nick Dougherty

Henrik Stenson vs. Jerry Kelly

Stewart Cink vs. Shingo Katayama

Jim Furyk vs. Jonathan Byrd

Retief Goosen vs. Charles Howell III

Rory Sabbatini vs. Colin Montgomerie

Stephen Ames vs. Robert Karlsson

Padraig Harrington vs. Camilo Villegas

Iam Poulter vs. Miguel Angel Jimenez

Zach Johnson vs. Anders Hansen

Luke Donald vs. Mark Calcavecchia

Hunter Mahan vs. Mike Weir

J.B. Holmes vs. Phil Mickelson