The Loop

USGA unveils '09 Ex. Committee nominees

October 27, 2008

The USGA has announced its nominees for the 2009 Executive Committee, which will be voted on at its annual meeting in Newport Beach, Calif., next February. No surprise in the fact that Jim Vernon (right) is on the slate to serve his second one-year term as president. Jim Hyler and Cameron Raines also are set to return as vice presidents while James Bunch (secretary) and Irv Fish (treasurer) have been nominated for ExCom officer posts.

There are three new nominees to serve on 15-person governing body: Glen D. Nager, the current general counsel from Washington D.C.; Christopher A. Liedel, executive VP and CFO of the National Geographic Society; and Atlanta native Gene B. McClure, a long-time USGA volunteer who won the association's Joe Dey Award last February. They replace retiring ExCom members Missy Crisp (the current secretary), Fred Nelson (current treasurer) and Bill Lewis.

Additionally, Joseph W. Anthony of Minneapolis has been nominated to replace Nager as USGA general counsel.

-- Ryan Herrington

(Photo: John Mummert/USGA)