Seven new members for GCAA Hall of Fame

October 27, 2010

The Golf Coaches Association of America will welcome seven new members to its Hall of Fame next month in Las Vegas, inducting six coaches who have each won a national championship during their college careers and one journalist who has chronicled more than two dozen NCAA men's championships.

Five coaches--California's Steve Desimone, USC-Aiken's__Michael Carlisle__, Oklahoma City's__Kyle Blaser__,Bob Alpers of St. John's (Minn.) and Texas Wesleyan's Bobby Cornett--remain active at their schools. Desimone started coaching the Golden Bears in 1980 and helped the team gain varsity status in 1982 before eventually leading them to the 2004 NCAA Division I title. Carlisle, Alpers and Blaser got their starts in the 1990s and have won 12 national championships between them. Cornett returned to the job in 2009 after coaching at Texas Wesleyan from 1985-99.

Also being honored is__Floyd Horgan__, who oversaw the Brevard CC program and was Hal Sutton's coach at Centenary in the late 1970s/early 1980s, and__Ron Balicki__, a veteran writer  with Golfweek magazine who has covered college and amateur golf since the 1980s.

Here are some thumbnails on the honorees, who will be formally inducted during the GCAA's national convention at the Tropicana Hotel on Dec. 6

Bob Alpers, St. John's (Minn.), 1992-present

Two NCAA D-III titles (2007, '08); eight conference championships; 21 All-Americans; 2007 national coach of the year

Ron Balicki, Golfweek, 1983-present

Covered 26 consecutive NCAA D-I championships dating back to 1985; stories have been recognized as award winners by the Golf Writers Association of America

Kyle Blaser, Oklahoma City, 1998-present

Seven NAIA national titles; 11 conference championships; 21 All-Americans; six-time NAIA national coach of the year

Michael Carlisle, USC-Aiken, 1991-present

Three NCAA D-II titles (2004, '05, '06); eight conference championships, 45 All-Americans; one NCAA player of the year; three-time national  coach of the year

Bobby Cornett, Texas Wesleyan, 1985-99, 2009-present

Three NAIA national titles (1990, '95, '99); 65 tournament wins; three-time NAIA coach of the year

Steve Desimone, California, 1980-present

One NCAA D-I title (2004); eight All-Americans; 11 All-American scholars

Floyd Horgan, Brevard CC/Centenary, 1966-1993

Seven NJCAA titles; 48 All-Americans; NJCAA Hall of Fame inductee