May 27, 2008

Rules Quiz: The buddy system

Take this quiz to see if you're a team player

1: In a four-ball competition, Players A and B are partners. Player A makes a 5, but Player B is getting two shots and makes a net 4 to win the hole for the team. Who tees off first on the next hole?

a. Player A

b. Player B

c. Either player

2: Players A and B are playing Players C and D in a four-ball match. At the same time, Player A is playing Player C in a singles match. Player A has a two-foot putt left to win the hole for his side, but the same putt has to be made to halve the hole in the singles match. Can Player C concede the putt in the team match but not in the singles match?

a. Yes, provided he specifically says what the concession is for. Otherwise the concession is good for both matches.

b. No, if Player A has to putt, it counts for both matches.

3: In a four-ball match, Players A and B are partners vs. Players C and D. Player A thinks Player B's ball can serve as a backstop near the hole. Can Player C demand the ball be lifted?

a. Yes

b. No

4: Players A and B are partners in a match, and Player A mistakenly plays Player B's ball out of the rough. How should they proceed?

a. They lose the hole.

b. Player A is disqualified for the hole for playing the wrong ball. Player B replaces the ball and plays on.

5: Players A and B are partners in a foursomes (alternate-shot) match. Player A thinks his drive is lost and wants to play a provisional. Who plays the provisional?

a. Player A

b. Player B

6: Player A and Player B are partners in foursomes. The next shot requires their team to carry a big water hazard. It's Player A's turn to hit. Can Player A, who has a high handicap, purposely whiff at the ball to save a penalty stroke and allow Player B, a scratch golfer, to hit over the water?

a. Yes

b. No

7: Players A and B are partners in a match. Player A tees off, then B. Player C hits his tee shot next. Before his partner, Player D, tees off, he realizes Players A and B have hit out of turn. Can Players C and D insist the other players cancel their strokes and play in the correct order?

a. Yes

b. No

c. Yes, Player A only

d. Yes, Player B only

8: In a four-ball match, Players A and B are partners. Player A hits two balls out-of-bounds. He says, "I'm out of the hole" and decides to pick up his ball and start chipping while he waits for his partner to finish the hole. Is this allowed?

a. Yes

b. No



ANSWERS

  1. c, Rule 31-4

  2. a, Decision 30-3/1 (1). You can specify a concession.

  3. a, Rule 22-1. If Player B refuses, he's disqualified from the hole. If his refusal assists Player A in his play of the hole, Player A is DQ'd for the hole.

  4. b, Rule 30-3c

  5. b, Decision 29-1/3

  6. b, Decision 29-1/7. A swing counts as a stroke only if the player intends to hit the ball. Because Player A did not, it would still be Player A's turn.

  7. b, Decision 30-1/1, Rule 10-1c. Players C and D may require Player A or Player B to cancel a stroke, but only before the next person plays. So when Player B tees off, team C and D lose that right with Player A. And when Player C tees off, team C and D lose that right with Player B.

  8. b, Rule 7-2, Decision 30-3f/7. The hole wasn't completed, so practice was not permitted. Player A is DQ'd from the hole. If his act assists Player B in his play of the hole. Player B is also DQ'd for the hole.