BMW Championship

Wilmington Country Club

The Loop

The Loop

Paolucci, Park win AJGA Rolex POY honors

October 21, 2010

One was a no-brainer, the other came down to the wire. In the end, Anthony Paolucci and Kristen Park have earned the AJGA's Rolex Junior Player of the Year Awards after putting on impressive displays in 2010.

Paolucci, 18, from Rancho Santa Fe, Calif., has been atop the Polo Golf Ranking since May when he won the Thunderbird International Junior title. He added a second AJGA invitational victory to his resume when he won the Rolex Tournament of Champions event in July. Additionally he finished second at the FootJoy Invitational and at the Junior PGA Championship, was a quarterfinalist at the U.S. Junior Amateur. The senior at La Jolla Country Day has given a verbal commitment to play college golf at USC next fall.

Park, 17, from Buena Park, Calif., was victorious at the Ping Invitational earlier this month, a last-minute tournament title that likely allowed her to claim the award in a close race with Victoria Tanco and Cindy Feng. Knowing a win was probably necessarily, Park shot a course-record 67 in the final round. It was her AJGA second invitational of the year, going with her Rolex Tournament of Champions victory in July. Park also had top-10 finishes in six other AJGA events and was fifth at the Junior PGA Championship. She too is a high school senior who is expected to sign with USC later this fall.

Both Paolucci and Park will receive their awards Nov. 21 during the AJGA's Rolex Junior All-America Awards Banquet at PGA National Golf & Spa in Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.



1978    Willie Wood, Tucson, Ariz.

1979    Tracy Phillips, Tulsa, Okla.

1980    Tommy Moore, New Orleans, La.

Tracy Phillips, Tulsa, Okla.

1981    Billy Andrade, Bristol, R.I.

1982    Scott Verplank, Dallas, Texas

1983    Bill McDonald, Dalton, Ga.

1984    Brian Watts, Carrollton, Texas

1985    Bobby May, La Habra, Calif.

1986    Phil Mickelson, San Diego, Calif.

1987    Phil Mickelson, San Diego, Calif.

1988    Phil Mickelson, San Diego, Calif.

1989    David Duval, Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla.

1990    Lee McEntee, Doylestown, Pa.

1991    Tiger Woods, Cypress, Calif.

1992    Tiger Woods, Cypress, Calif.

1993    Michael Henderson, Raleigh, N.C.

1994    Robert Floyd, Miami Beach, Fla.

Joel Kribel, Pleasanton, Calif.

1995    Ryuji Imada, Tampa, Fla.

1996    Charles Howell, Augusta, Ga.

1997    David Gossett, Germantown, Tenn.

1998    Erik Compton, Miami, Fla.

Ryan Hybl, Colbert, Ga.

1999    Hunter Mahan, McKinney, Texas

2000    Matthew Rosenfeld, Plano, Texas

2001    Casey Wittenberg, Memphis, Tenn.

2002    Seung Su Han, Chino Hills, Calif.

2003    Brian Harman, Savannah, Ga.

2004    Brian Harman, Savannah, Ga.

2005    Peter Uihlein, Bradenton, Fla.

2006    Philip Francis, Scottsdale, Ariz.

2007    Peter Uihlein, Bradenton, Fla.

2008    Cameron Peck, Olympia, Wash.

2009    Jordan Spieth, Dallas, Texas

2010    Anthony Paolucci, Rancho Santa Fe, Calif.


__1978    Cathy Hanlon, Verdes Estates, Calif.

1979    Penny Hammel, Decatur, Ill.

1980    Heather Farr, Phoenix, Ariz.

1981    Jenny Lidback, Baton Rouge, La.

1982    Heather Farr, Phoenix, Ariz.

1983    Melissa McNamara, Tulsa, Okla.

1984    Susan Pager, Daphne, Ala.

1985    Pearl Sinn, Bellflower, Calif.

1986    Adele Moore, Dallas, Texas

1987    Michelle McGann, Riviera Beach, Fla.

1988    Brandi Burton, Rialto, Calif.

Vicki Goetze, Hull, Ga.

1989    Vicki Goetze, Hull, Ga.

1990    Vicki Goetze, Hull, Ga.

1991    Emilee Klein, Studio City, Calif.

1992    Kellee Booth, Coto de Caza, Calif.

1993    Kellee Booth, Coto de Caza, Calif.

1994    Grace Park, Phoenix, Ariz.

1995    Cristie Kerr, Miami, Fla.

1996    Grace Park, Phoenix, Ariz.

1997    Beth Bauer, Valrico, Fla.

1998    Beth Bauer, Cramerton, N.C.

1999    Candie Kung, Fountain Valley, Calif.

2000    Aree Song Wongluekiet, Bradenton, Fla.

2001    Elizabeth Janangelo, West Hartford, Conn.

2002    In-Bee Park, Eustis, Fla.

2003    Paula Creamer, Pleasanton, Calif.

2004    Julieta Granada, Asuncion, Paraguay

2005    Morgan Pressel, Boca Raton, Fla.

2006    Esther Choe, Scottsdale, Ariz.

2007    Vicky Hurst, Melbourne, Fla.

2008    Victoria Tanco, Bradenton, Fla.

2009    Victoria Tanco, Bradenton, Fla.

2010     Kristen Park, Buena Park, Calif.