News & ToursApril 30, 2007

NCAA women's selections on target


Top seeds are two-time defending NCAA champions Duke in the East, SEC champion Georgia in the Central and top-ranked Arizona State in the West. The top eight teams from every regional and top two individuals not on those teams advance to the NCAA Championship at LPGA International in Daytona Beach, Fla., May 22-25.

The highest rated team in the Golfstat rankings that didn’t get one of the 63 bids was No. 54 Princeton, upset by No. 146 Columbia in the Ivy League Championship. The lowest ranked team to get an at-large bid was No. 52 Nebraska, whose victory at the Mountain View Collegiate in late March appears to have been the boost the Cornhuskers needed to get in.

"That was a little bit stressful because we were one of the last three or four teams in the tournament field to have our names called," Nebraska women's coach Robin Krapfl said. "But we are in the tournament and now we plan to do our best to advance on to the next round. We have been playing some pretty good golf late in the season, and we are hoping to save our best for last."

Meanwhile, the bubble burst for some teams that have made a habit of advancing to the NCAA postseason. Most notable: Washington and Texas, which each had just one top-five showing in nine tournaments; Tulsa, whose best finish was sixth place in nine events under first-year coach Trelle McCombs.

Look for more analysis of the women's field, and a revisiting of pre-season predictions, in the coming days.


East Regional


University Club GC

Baton Rouge, La.

May 10-12

(Conference automatic bids in parenthesis)



  1. Duke (Atlantic Coast Conference)

  2. UCLA

  3. Auburn

  4. Purdue

  5. Texas A&M (Big 12 Conference)

  6. North Carolina

  7. Alabama

  8. Wake Forest

  9. South Carolina

  10. Virginia

  11. Florida State

  12. LSU

  13. Louisville

  14. South Florida

  15. North Carolina State

  16. Birmingham-Southern (Big South Conference)

  17. Furman

  18. College of Charleston

  19. Western Carolina (Southern Conference)

  20. Jacksonville State (Ohio Valley Conference)

  21. Jackson State (Southwestern Athletic Conference)


  1. Araceli Felgueroso, Coastal Carolina

  2. Lene Krog, East Carolina

  3. Amanda Mathis, Mississippi State


Central Regional__


Ann Arbor, Mich.

May 10-12

(Conference automatic bids in parenthesis)


  1. Georgia (Southeastern Conference)

  2. Vanderbilt

  3. Southern California

  4. Tennessee

  5. Arizona

  6. Michigan State (Big Ten Conference)

  7. TCU (Mountain West Conference)

  8. Baylor

  9. Arkansas

  10. Kent State (Mid-American Conference)

  11. Ohio State

  12. Northwestern

  13. Michigan

  14. Missouri

  15. SMU

  16. Maryland

  17. Indiana

  18. North Carolina-Wilmington (Colonial Athletic Association)

  19. Oral Roberts (Mid-Continent Conference)

  20. Southern Illinois (Missouri Valley Conference)

  21. St. Francis (Pennsylvania) (Northeast Conference)


  1. Gerina Mendoza, UTEP

  2. Sara Wikstrom, Arkansas-Little Rock

  3. Noriko Nakazaki, Notre Dame


West Regional__

Entrada at Snow Canyon CC

St. George, Utah

May 10-12

(Conference automatic bids in parenthesis)


  1. Arizona State (Pacific-10 Conference)

  2. Pepperdine

  3. Florida

  4. Oklahoma State

  5. Brigham Young

  6. Stanford

  7. Denver (Sun Belt Conference)

  8. New Mexico

  9. UC Irvine (Big West Conference)

  10. San Jose State

  11. UNLV

  12. San Francisco

  13. Hawaii

  14. California

  15. Idaho (Western Athletic Conference)

  16. Washington State

  17. Campbell (Atlantic Sun Conference)

  18. Nebraska

  19. Memphis (Conference USA)

  20. Sacramento State (Big Sky Conference)

  21. Columbia-Barnard (Ivy Group)


  1. Kay Hoey, Long Beach State

  2. Jennifer Shipley, Fresno State

  3. Lehua Wise, New Mexico State

More from The Loop