News & Tours

News & Tours

Johnson, Kim, Langer earn GWAA Player of the Year honors

January 28, 2021

Gregory Shamus

Dustin Johnson, Sei Young Kim and Bernhard Langer were named 2020 Players of the Year by the Golf Writers Association of America on Thursday.

Johnson captured the men’s POY honor, and in dominating fashion with more than 93 percent of votes cast by GWAA members. Johnson won his second career major in November at the Masters, his 20-under performance a tournament record, capping off a four-win year that included his first career FedEx Cup championship. Johnson won the PGA Tour’s Player of the Year for the 2019-20 season, with his strong fall bestowing firm command of the No. 1 world ranking.

“It’s a great honor to again be voted as the Golf Writers Association Player of the Year,’’ Johnson said in a statement. “I appreciate my many friends in the media and their recognition of my performance. This means a lot to me.”

Like Johnson, Kim also dominated her category with 69 percent of the vote for women’s POY. Kim grabbed her first career major in the fall at the KPMG Women's PGA Championship, and added to her trophy mantle with a win a month later at the Pelican Women's Championship. Kim was named LPGA Player of the Year, ending the season ranked No. 2 in the Rolex Rankings.

“I am very pleased and honored to receive such an important award,” Kim said. “It is an amazing feeling to get recognized for my efforts and dedication. This is a true booster encouraging me to continue my hard work.”

As for Langer, the ageless wonder edged Ernie Els (41 percent to 35.6) for the senior POY. Langer, 63, had a win and 12 top-10s on the Champions Tour, and made the cut at the Masters.

“It is a great honor and wonderful recognition to have been named the GWAA Senior Player of the Year 2020,’’ Langer said. “When experts of the trade/game, like the golf writers, vote for you, it means so much more and I am thrilled to receive this special reward again.”

The Golf Writers Association of America is a non-profit members organization, and the only American organization dedicated to the promotion and continued improvement of golf journalism.