The Loop

The Loop

Hogan Watch list unveiled

February 11, 2010

The names of the 25 players making the "watch list" for the 2010 Ben Hogan Award were released today and I don't think anyone should be surprised at who is on the list. The award, sponsored by Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial CC in Fort Worth, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America, is presented annually to the top men's NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Top-ranked Oklahoma State had four players included--Peter Uihlein,Morgan Hoffmann,Trent Whitekiller and Kevin Tway--while No. 2 Stanford had the next most in three--David Chung,Sihwan Kim and Steve Ziegler. Alabama was the only other school with multiple players on the list:Bud Cauley and Hunter Hamrick.

Here is the complete list below. The Hogan Award semifinalists will be announced April 14. The three finalists named May 11 will be invited to Colonial CC for the Hogan Award presentation on the evening of May 24.

Knut Borsheim, Arizona State

Bud Cauley, Alabama

David Chung, Stanford

Derek Ernst, UNLV

Oscar Floren, Texas Tech

Dustin Garza, Wichita State

Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest

John Hahn, Kent State

Hunter Hamrick, Alabama

Russell Henley, Georgia

Matt Hill, N.C. State

Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State

Sihwan Kim, Stanford

Kelly Kraft, SMU

Scott Langley, Illinois

Seath Lauer, Florida State

Corey Nagy, Charlotte

John Peterson, LSU

Jonathan Randolph, Mississippi

Nick Taylor, Washington

Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

Diego Velasquez, Oregon State

Trent Whitekiller, Oklahoma State

Steve Ziegler, Stanford