Conference preview: Mountain West

September 09, 2008




2008-09 outlook


Predicted champion: UNLV

Predicted player of the year: Eddie Olson, UNLV

Predicted freshman of the year: James Erkenbeck, New Mexico

NCAA Regional bound: UNLV, Colorado State, TCU, San Diego State, BYU

Team on the rise: Colorado State ... Last year's conference title seem out of nowhere; won't be the case this year if the Rams repeat.

Biggest question mark: UNLV ... All-American Seung-su Han decides not to turn pro, but will play in Q school this fall.

Wouldn't surprise me to see: San Diego State remain competitive despite the loss of departing senior Aaron Goldberg, arguably the best player in school history.

__Would shock me to see:__A repeat of Cinderalla story from last year's MWC Championship, where a team ranked sixth in the conference entering the tournament (Colorado State) took home the title.

__2007-08 Accolades

Team champion:__ Colorado State

Player of the year: Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State

Freshman of the year: Matt Hoffenberg, San Diego State

Coach of the year: Jamie Bermel, Colorado State

MWC medalist: Eddie Olson, UNLV

All-MWC first team:

Franklin Corpening, TCU

Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State

Seung-su Han, UNLV*

Bryce Hanstad, Colorado State*

Matt Hoffenberg, San Diego State*

Matt Kinsinger, UNLV

Dustin Morris, Colorado State*

Eddie Olson, UNLV*

David Palm, San Diego State*

2008-09 predicted finish:



2008-09 outlook



Predicted champion: New Mexico

Predicted player of the year: Jodi Ewart, New Mexico

Predicted freshman of the year: Kristen Schelling, UNLV

NCAA Regional bound: New Mexico, UNLV, TCU, BYU

Team on the rise: UNLV ... Young players already have valuable experience.

Biggest question mark: BYU ... Will miss departure of Juli Erekson.

__Wouldn't surprise me to see:__New Mexico and UNLV separate themselves from the rest of the pack.

Would shock me to see: As the conference celebrates its 10th year, anyone from Wyoming join Jordan Lintz, the individual winner at the first MWC championship in 2000.

__2007-08 Accolades

Team champion:__ New Mexico

Players of the year: Valentine Derrey, TCU; Jodi Ewart, New Mexico

Freshman of the year: Therese Koelbaek, UNLV

Coach of the year: Jill Trujillo, New Mexico

MWC medalist: Jodi Ewart, New Mexico

All-MWC first team:

Mikaela Backstedt, New Mexico*

Britney Choy, New Mexico*

Juli Erekson, BYU

Jodi Ewart, New Mexico*

2008-09 predicted finish:



Tomorrow's preview: Conference USA