Fortinet Championship

Silverado Resort and Spa North

The Loop

The Loop

Conference preview: Conference USA

September 10, 2008



2008-09 outlook

Predicted champion: UAB

Predicted player of the year: Zach Sucher, UAB

Predicted freshman of the year: Stephen Carney, Tulsa

NCAA Regional bound: UAB, SMU, UCF, Tulsa, Memphis

Team on the rise: SMU ... Have lots of talent; if they get more consistent, what out.

Biggest question mark: Tulsa ... Took their lumps last year but did the young guys really gain enough experience?

Wouldn't surprise me to see: The ".500 rule" keep one or two schools from getting regional berths (Tulsa beware.).

Would shock me to see: Anyone other than Sucher win POY honors here ... he's head and shoulders above the competition.

__2007-08 Accolades

Team champion:__ UAB

Player of the year: Zach Sucher, UAB

Freshman of the year: Kelly Kraft, SMU

Coach of the year: Grant Robbins, Memphis

__C-USA medalist:Zach Sucher, UAB

All-C-USA First team:__

Greg Forest, UCF*

Jordan Irwin, Houston

Ian Rochester, Memphis

Brad Smith, UAB

Zach Sucher, UAB*

All-C-USA Second team:

Robbie Greenwell, Memphis

Nicolas Geyger, Tulsa*

Kelly Kraft, SMU*

Ben Tewes, SMU*

2008-09 predicted finish:



2008-09 outlook__


Predicted champion: UCF__

Predicted player of the year:__ Woori Shin, Tulsa

Predicted freshman of the year: Marika Lendl, UCF

NCAA Regional bound: UCF, East Carolina, Tulsa, Tulane, SMU

Team on the rise: UCF ... The talent is there for the Knights to have break out year.

Biggest question mark: Tulsa ... lost a lot of veterans from last year's team.

__Wouldn't surprise me to see:SMU's Kate Ackerson single-handedly lift the Mustangs to a NCAA regional berth.

Would shock me to see: __Tulane finish higher than third in its first year back since Hurricane Katrina; it will happen soon, just not this soon.

__2007-08 Accolades

Team champion:__ Tulsa

Player of the year: Abby Bools, East Carolina

Freshman of the year: Amber Littman, East Carolina

Coach of the year: Kevin Williams, East Carolina

C-USA medalist: Woori Shin, Tulsa

All-C-USA First team:

Abby Bools, East Carolina*

Michaela Cavener, Tulsa

Emilie Lind, East Carolina

Amber Littman, East Carolina*

All-C-USA Second Team:

Tara Goedeken, Tulsa

Lacey Jones, SMU

Jessy Tang, UCF*

2008-09 predicted finish:



Tomorrow: Best of the Rest__

Friday:__ This week's syllabus