Ben Hogan Award semifinalists named

Chesapeake Energy, in association with Colonial CC, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America, released the names of the 10 semifinalists for the 2010 Ben Hogan Award today. The Hogan is presented annually to the top men's college player taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period.

Bud Cauley, Alabama*

David Chung, Stanford

Harris English, Georgia

Brendan Gielow, Wake Forest

Russell Henley, Georgia

Patrick Reed, Augusta State

Nick Taylor, Washington*

Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State

Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State

** Hogan semifinalists in 2009

In the interest of full disclosure I'm a voting member of the selection committee. The list was a bit different from the one I had on my ballot. Instead of Tway, English and Uihlein (who were in my top 13), I had Mississippi's Jonathan Randolph, Wichita State's__Dustin Garza__ and Texas' Cody Gribble. Randolph and Garza have won three and five times during the college season, respectively which to me was a big deal even if their teams' schedules weren't the strongest of all the candidates. Gribble has five top-five finishes, although no victories.

It's hard to quibble though with Tway and English, who are having outstanding spring seasons. Conversely, Uihlein has struggled this spring (best finish: T-11 and no other top-25 showings) but makes the list because of his two big wins in the fall.