Fortinet Championship

Silverado Resort and Spa North

The Loop

The Loop

Another honor for Woods

December 17, 2009

The Golf Writers Association of America has named Tiger Woods its PGA Tour player of the year for the 10th time in his 13 full seasons as a PGA Tour member and will be honored (in absentia?) at the organization's annual awards dinner in Augusta, Ga., on the eve of the Masters.

Woods, of course, has announced he's taking an indefinite leave from golf, and it is not known whether he will return in time to compete in the Masters. He usually attends the dinner, though only long enough to accept the award.

Woods won with 84 percent of the vote (168 votes). Steve Stricker, with 20 votes (10 percent) came in second.

Jiyai Shin was elected LPGA player of the year and Loren Roberts the Champions Tour player of the year.

-- John Strege