Golf Digest editors picks

Golf's Costliest Rules Mistakes

A look at the rules mistakes in golf history that have taken a hefty toll

The Masters: Tiger Woods

It's been an eventful 2013 for Tiger Woods thus far -- and that's just when it comes to rules violations. First, he was disqualified for taking an illegal drop at his season-opening event in Abu Dhabi. But that will be a complete afterthought following what occurred during the second round of the Masters. After getting a terrible break with his approach shot on No. 15 hitting the flagstick and bouncing into the water, Woods appeared to save bogey by getting up and down from a similar spot. However, after the round it was determined that Woods took an illegal drop, something he unknowingly admitted to during a TV interview when he said he purposely dropped two yards behind the original spot since he liked that yardage better. Fortunately, Augusta National rules officials decided to assess Tiger a two-stroke penalty and not disqualify the 14-time major champion for signing an incorrect scorecard. How things play out over the final two rounds will determine just how much this mistake winds up hurting Woods, but one thing is certain: A DQ would have been a lot more costly.

-- Alex Myers

Morgan Pressel

Morgan Pressel, 2012 Sybase Match Play

After making a par on the 12th hole of her semifinal match, Pressel appeared to take a 3-up lead on Azahara Munoz, but she was informed she would be penalized for slow play. Pressel had taken two minutes and nine seconds to play her three shots on the hole, putting her 39 seconds over the 30-second limit per shot. As a result, the hole was awarded to Munoz, who would go on to win the match and win the tournament.
Chris Trotman/Getty Images
Around The Web
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe to Golf Digest

Subscribe today