Golf Digest editors picks

What's In My Bag: Matt Kuchar

What's In My Bag: Matt Kuchar

July 2010
What's In My Bag: Matt Kuchar

THE GOAL

Age: 31 | Lives: Ponte Vedra Beach, Fla. | Story: Win at Turning Stone in 2009 was his second. Has earned more than $5.5 million from 2008-'10.

I want to qualify for the Tour Championship. Being a Georgia Tech grad, playing at East Lake would feel like home. It's been a goal for a few years, although I'm not a guy who sets goals. I just try to be the best player I can be every week.

LOST IN THE CROWD

Playing with Tiger Woods the first two rounds of the Masters was exciting. But it was so crowded out there my family and friends couldn't see me play.

TENNIS, ANYONE?

My wife, Sybi, and I play a lot of tennis. Last year we won the consolation bracket in the USTA National Husband-Wife Doubles Championship. I dislike the gym, but I'll chase a tennis ball all day.

NO MORE TEMPER

I had a temper when I played junior golf and had my clubs taken away for slamming them on the ground. I learned very quickly that I didn't want my clubs taken away from me.
ball marker

POTLUCK

I have a random array of ball markers in my bag and don't use any specific one. Many are the plastic kind you find at almost any golf course. You can barely make out that this one is from Sea Island resort.
Putting tutor

TRAVELING TUTOR

You can't be successful out here unless you're a really good putter. I take this Dave Pelz Putting Tutor with me to every event. It really helps me with my stroke.

What's In My Bag Archive

Around The Web
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe today
 
Advertisement