Golf Digest editors picks
Golf Courses & Travel

America's Top 50 Courses For Women

Continued (page 2 of 3)

26. Heritage Hill Golf Club Shepherdsville, Ky., hhgolfclub.com, $59

*27. Geneva National Golf Club (Player) Lake Geneva, Wis., genevanationalresort.com, $125

28. Hammock Beach Resort (Ocean) Palm Coast, Fla., hammockbeach.com, $159

29. Fairmont Turnberry Isle Resort & Club (Miller) Aventura, Fla., fairmontgolf.com, $225

30. Treetops Resort (Rick Smith Signature) Gaylord, Mich., treetops.com, $89

31. Blue Ridge Shadows Golf Club Front Royal, Va., blueridgeshadows.com, $65

*32. Monarch Dunes Golf Club (Old) Nipomo, Calif., monarchdunes.com, $95

33. Stowe Mountain Golf Club Stowe, Vt., summer.stowe.com, $205

34. Purgatory Golf Club Noblesville, Ind., purgatorygolf.com, $75

35. Boyne Highlands Resort (Heather), Harbor Springs, Mich., boynehighlands.com, $99

36. Panther Run Golf Club Ave Maria, Fla., pantherrungolfclub.com, $85

37. Half Moon Bay Golf Links (Ocean) Half Moon Bay, Calif., halfmoonbaygolf.com, $185

38. Monarch Beach Golf Links Dana Point, Calif., monarchbeachgolf.com, $180

39. Black Lake Golf Club Onaway, Mich. blacklakegolf.com, $65

40. Wailea Golf Club (Emerald) Wailea, Maui, Hawaii, www.waileagolf.com, $190

*41. Richter Park Golf Course Danbury, Conn., www.richterpark.com, $97

42. Queenstown Harbor (Lakes) Queenstown, Md., mdgolf.com/queenstown, $62

43. Williamsburg National Golf Club (Yorktown)Williamsburg, Va., wngc.com.com, $60

44. Barton Creek Resort & Spa (Fazio Foothills) Austin, bartoncreek.com, $225

45. Sunriver Resort (Meadows) Sunriver, Ore., sunriver-resort.com, $99

46. Whistling Straits (Irish) Haven, Wis., whistlingstraits.com, $180

47. Indian Wells Golf Resort (Players) Indian Wells, Calif., indianwellsgolfresort.com, $140

48. The Sea Pines Resort (Heron Point) Hilton Head Island, seapines.com, $140

49. Angel Park Golf Club (Palm) Las Vegas, www.angelpark.com, $155

50. Desert Willow Golf Resort (Mountain View) Palm Desert, Calif., desertwillow .com, $185

A FAMILY AFFAIR
The key to a woman's heart is her family, so making your course appealing to children is a great way to attract female golfers. The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club Grande Lakes (No. 23) in Florida offers junior tees at 2,950 yards and allows kids 17 and under to play for free with an adult or unaccompanied for 30 percent off the regular green fee. Stowe Mountain Golf Club (No. 33) in Vermont has a program that includes an alpine slide, rock wall, trampoline and spa activities. At Province Lake (No. 24), a daily-fee course in Maine, child care is available while you play.

For families that prefer to play together, more facilities are providing PGA Family Courses, a set of junior tees that can be played at discounted rates. Hammock Beach Resort (No. 28) in Florida promotes Family Fairways, a program that lets kids play with U.S. Kids Golf rental clubs for a $20 green fee. Richter Park (No. 41) in Connecticut has a nine-hole Family Scramble, and Pine Needles (No. 1) in North Carolina runs the Parent-Child Invitational each year. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

CHANGING COURSE
Designing a layout that offers short hitters a manageable yardage and eliminates forced carries is the most obvious way to make a golf course attractive to women. The 4,280-yard forward tees at the Old Macdonald course at Bandon Dunes in Oregon are called the Royal Blues and represent a revolution in the way tees are constructed. The brainchild of consultants Arthur Little and Jann Leeming, the Royal Blues are USGA-rated, were conceptualized during the design phase and have a respectable place on the scorecard. Old Macdonald opened in June 2010, and the tees were such a success that the resort added Royal Blues to its other three courses by September. "It gives all of our guests another option. We strive to grow the game, and these tees will have a positive effect," says Jeff Simonds, head professional at Bandon Dunes. Retrofitting a course with a set of forward tees is a low-cost alternative to designing from scratch and one that Stowe Mountain Golf Club (No. 33) in Vermont has embraced under the leadership of director of golf Ron Philo Jr. Stowe Mountain's changes include new tee boxes (rebuilt at "a minimal investment") that eliminate all forced carries from the forward tees, which measure 4,350 yards. The course also features less-punishing rough and larger green surrounds that allow players to use their putters more.

The latest on golf digest

Phil Mickelson
Not So Fast . . .
7 players who've never had the top spot.
What's In My Bag: Billy Horschel
What's In My Bag
Billy Horschel
World's 100 Greatest Golf Courses
Course Rankings
World's 100 Greatest
Swing Sequence: Adam Scott
Swing Sequences
Adam Scott

Golf Courses and Travel Tweets

. Close

Thank you for signing up for the newsletter.

You will receive your first newsletter soon.
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe today