Golf Digest editors picks
Golf Courses & Travel

America's Top 50 Courses For Women

We present the public and resort facilities that offer women the ultimate golf experience

America's Top 50 Courses For Women

Old Macdonald at Bandon Dunes (No. 3) in Oregon offers breathtaking links-style golf from a manageable 4,280 yards.

June 2011

What makes a woman-friendly golf course? Ask Golf Digest's panel of more than 100 female course raters, and they'll tell you it's a design that puts strong players to the test yet offers an enjoyable outing for shorter hitters. In considering candidates for our 2011 ranking of America's best public and resort courses for women, we emphasized course layout the most -- which is why Old Macdonald Golf Links at Bandon Dunes in Oregon debuts at No. 3. Its investment in designing a set of significantly shorter tees might shake up an industry that tends to think longer is better. But it doesn't take a Bandon-size budget to put women-friendly practices in place. Family programs, leagues and merchandise are all low-cost, high-impact ways to say: "We want you here." Each course in our Top 50 has at least one set of tees shorter than 5,300 yards, two sets of tees with USGA Course and Slope ratings for women, and few or no forced carries.

A welcoming atmosphere is essential, and so are top-course conditions and great amenities (that's where the experience of our course raters comes in). So read on and then visit as many of the Top 50 as you can. You won't regret it.

* New to list

1. Pine Needles Lodge & Golf Club Southern Pines, N.C., pineneedles-midpines.com, $200

2. The Boulders Resort & Spa (South) Carefree, Ariz., theboulders.com, $220

*3. Bandon Dunes Golf Resort (Old Macdonald) Bandon, Ore., bandondunes.com, $225

4. Amelia Island Plantation (Ocean Links) Amelia Island, Fla., aipfl.com, $150

5. Running Y Ranch Klamath Falls, Ore., runningy.com, $89

6. Sea Island Resorts (Seaside) St. Simons Island, Ga., seaisland.com, $295

7. LPGA International (Champions) Daytona Beach, Fla., lpgainternational.com, $69

8. The Golf Club At Newcastle (China Creek) Newcastle, Wash., newcastlegolf.com, $115

9. Kingsmill Resort & Spa (Plantation) Williamsburg, Va., kingsmill.com, $115

10. Grand Cypress Golf Club (East/North) Orlando, grandcypress.com, $190

11. Kiawah Island Golf Resort (Osprey Point) Kiawah Island, S.C.kiawahresort.com, $180

12. Keystone Resort (River) Keystone, Colo., golfkeystone.com, $170

13. Celebration Golf Club, Celebration, Fla., celebrationgolf.com, $109

14. The Greenbrier (Old White) White Sulphur Springs, W.Va., greenbrier.com, $325

15. Reynolds Plantation (Oconee) Greensboro, Ga., reynoldsplantation.com, $216

16. Southwood Golf Club Tallahassee, Fla., southwoodgolf.com, $75

17. La Quinta Resort & Club (Mountain) La Quinta, Calif., laquintaresort.com, $189

*18. Fossil Trace Golf Club Golden, Colo., fossiltrace.com, $79

19. The Lodge at Ventana Canyon (Mountain) Tucson, ventanacanyonclub.com, $159

20. Snowmass Club Snowmass Village, Colo., snowmassclub.com, $220

21. Pinehurst Resort (No. 8) Pinehurst, N.C., pinehurst.com, $230

22. Nemacolin Woodlands Resort (Mystic Rock) Farmington, Pa., nemacolin.com, $185

23. The Ritz-Carlton Golf Club Grande Lakes Orlando, grandelakes.com, $175

24. Province Lake Parsonsfield, Maine, provincelakegolf.com, $52

25. Turning Stone Resort & Casino (Shenendoah) Verona, N.Y., turningstone.com, $105

From Our Partners

READ NOW

July 28, 2014

GolfWorld Monday

Get beyond the headlines and into the game.

Not a subscriber? Sign up Now for FREE
. Close

Thank you for signing up for the newsletter.

You will receive your first newsletter soon.
Subscribe to Golf Digest
Subscribe today