The Local Knowlege

News & Tours

This is when it's OK to yell at your caddie

By Luke Kerr-Dineen

Here at Golf Digest, we obviously don't condone yelling at caddies (on the contrary, most of us were caddies at some point, after all). But watching Bubba Watson snap at his caddie during the final round of the Travelers Championship got us thinking: Sometimes, you have to admit, it's pretty darn tough not to. So while we remain staunchly anti-caddie yelling, we'll at least cut you some slack under the following circumstances.

 
When he misclubs you late in a tournament, costing you hundreds of thousands of dollars
 
The Bubba treatment. Usually not cool, but Watson ended up taking home nearly $300,000 for his fourth place finish. Not too shabby, but we calculated that if Bubba would have just made a bogey, which would have put him in a playoff, and lost, he would have pocketed about another $300,000. If he goes on to win, he's making a cool $800,000 more than he did. Pretty annoying stuff.

 
When he leaves an extra club in the bag and it costs you a hundreds of thousands of dollars AND a major championship
 
Putting aside the money lost from this little maneuver, Ian Woosnam was 43 and had the chance for a glorious return to the major championship winner's circle when his caddie Miles Byrne inadvertently left an extra driver in his bag, leading to a two-stroke penalty. Yell away, Woosie.

 
 When he willingly snaps your clubs in half, inciting chaos
 
Admittedly, I'll take any excuse for a solid "Tin Cup" reference, but really, Roy McAvoy, as played by Kevin Costner, had a point here. Caddie snaps your driver and 3-wood so you have to play it safe? Fine, I'll snap the rest of the clubs -- except the 7-iron, of course -- and qualify for the U.S. Open anyway. Take that, caddie.

blog-tin-cup-460.jpgWhen your caddie watches you commit an egregious rules violation
 
Here's the scenario: Caddie watches passively as Dustin Johnson is in a bunker at Whistling Straits but doesn't know it and grounds his club, forcing a two-stroke penalty to keep him out of a playoff. Annoying. Then, the next year, in 2011, the same caddie, Bobby Brown, tells Johnson an incorrect tee time, forcing another two stroke penalty that would have turned into a DQ if it happened 10 seconds later. Yeah, yell at that guy.
 
blog-dustin-caddy-460.jpg
When your caddie commits a felony offense 
 
We don't really have any specific examples for this one, but if, while walking from tee to green, your caddies admits to, say, knocking over a convenience store the night before, you should be clear that you don't tolerate this sort of behavior. Unless he's really good at reading greens. Then maybe just a stern look will suffice.

blog-caddy-felon-460.jpg

. Close

Thank you for signing up for the newsletter.

You will receive your first newsletter soon.
Subscribe to Golf Digest

Subscribe today

Twitter

Golf Digest Perks

Golf Digest Tablet Editions