The Local Knowlege

News & Tours

26 players named to Hogan Award Watch List

Twenty-six collegians from all divisions of college golf were selected by the GCAA for inclusion on the 2011 Ben Hogan Award Watch List. The award goes to the top men's college golfer, taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period. (Full disclosure, I'm on the committee that helped select the players.)

Two of last year's finalists are on the 2011 list: Alabama's Bud Cauley and Georgia's Russell Henley. U.S. Amateur champion Peter Uihlein of Oklahoma State and runner-up David Chung of Stanford are other honorees.

A group of 10 semifinalists will be selected April 14 with three finalists then invited to attend the Hogan Award ceremony at Colonial CC in Fort Worth on May 16.

The award is sponsored by Baird Private Wealth Management in association with the Friends of Golf, Colonial CC and the GCAA.

(in alphabetical order)

Blayne Barber, Auburn
Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
Bud Cauley, Alabama
Alex Ching, San Diego
David Chung, Stanford
Harris English, Georgia
J.T. Griffin, Georgia Tech
Luke Guthrie, Illinois
Russell Henley, Georgia
Morgan Hoffmann, Oklahoma State
Bobby Hudson, Texas
Vince India, Iowa
Lion Kim, Michigan
Scott Langley, Illinois
Tain Lee, Claremont McKenna
Gregor Main, UCLA
Henrik Norlander, Augusta State
John Peterson, LSU
Andrew Putnam, Pepperdine
Patrick Reed, Augusta State
Kevin Tway, Oklahoma State
Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State
Bank Vongvanij, Florida
Pontus Widegren, UCLA
Bobby Wyatt, Alabama
Andrew Yun, Stanford